My Personal Learning Network (PLN) Mission Statement

Over the next few days, I will be posting reflections, discoveries, and insights about the development of my Personal Learning Network (PLN). Richardson & Mancabelli (2011) define PLNs in their book, Personal Learning Networks: Using the Power of Connections to Transform Education, as the “rich set of set of connections each of us can make to people in both our online and offline worlds who help us with our learning pursuits (p. 21).” While PLNs have been around for awhile for educators, they are becoming  an essential platform for students, educators, professionals, and anyone interested in managing their information and communication channels and fostering a path for lifelong learning.
I began exploring the components for my PLN a few weeks ago and soon realized that with the myriad of resources available and the broadness of my educational scope, I  needed  a mission statement for my PLN. The mission statement needed to identify my goals, highlight its openness, and incorporate my dedication not only to lifelong learning, but also in creating and sharing knowledge.

My Personal Learning Network Mission Statement:

My PLN, its tools, and its connections will be transparent and open for others to view, to participate, and to learn from. I will use my PLN to communicate with not only those IN my network, but to share my learning, ideas, and understandings publicly via my communication channels so that others in the networked world may also learn from my learning activities. This will foster new connections, new resources, new learning, and new understandings and a stronger, more influential, and more connected PLN. Most of all, my PLN will permit both creativity and curiosity. It will be used to share ideas, to play, to have fun, and to continuously explore not only my professional and academic interests, but my personal interests as well. In a physical world where we aim to separate our professional and personal endeavors in an effort to find balance, my PLN allows the blending of all my interests to come together in one place where exploration, networking, and fun will be unlimited.

With my mission statement in place, I now continue the journey of developing my Personal Learning Network.

Leave a Reply

